My Hair is a Blonde Joke

In a flash of insanity I recently had my hair highlighted blonde. Then, after hating it for the first week, I decided I quite liked it. However, the trouble with blonde highlights is you cannot ignore them when they need to be refreshed (unless you are Madonna). So… on Boxing Day I took a punt on one of the more upmarket salons here. I’m not going to mention which one.

It cost me what I thought was a reasonable price; 505 dirhams for the highlights without a cut. That’s about 200 AUD, or 100 euro. In Sydney this would get you a decent, if not life-changing, set of highlights.

In Dubai, for this price I got
a) no toner after the highlights, and
b) no attempt to match the new highlights to the exisiting highlights.

So now I have a regrowth strip down my part line, broken up by rapidly deteriorating blone highlights on very dry hair.

I am unpleased.

That's me!

That's me!

I am thinking of slinking down to the drug store to buy a brunette semi-permanent and putting it through myself. I haven’t done that since I was in school.

Leave a Reply

