Snip! Snip!

I got my haircut today.scissors1

I had a job interview last week and it was the first time I’d really blow-dried my hair in a while.  I realised then that it was so long at the back that it was looking mangy (I have a short haircut).

I decided to take a punt on the local, very average-looking hair salon in The Greens. I figured they couldn’t make it look worse.

My last experience at a hair salon left me with a whole in my wallet as well as butchered hair, so I figured I’d pay average dollar this time and see if the butchering increased exponentially.

This time I paid 170 dirham for a cut and blow-wave.  (That’s 46 USD, or 35 euros.)  A relative bargain. So far so good. But I really can’t tell if its a success until I wash and style it myself. So I’ll know in two days. (I’ve discovered that a good hairdresser can make even the most amateurish haircut look okay with a skilled blow dry.)

Speaking of blow-waves… the blow-waves they do here totally crack me up!  They seem to work on the assumption that everyone wants to look like a patrician matriarch from South America.  It reminds me of Evita or even an ‘awards event J-Lo’, and I totally love the fantasy element of it.

It’s very….(To husband) Have Henry bring the car around will you dahling?.  The girls and I are auctioning our last-season outfits for the hospital. Don’t wait up! (Finishes glass of Krug 96, air-kisses husband and totters off on ridiculously high-heels trying not to fall down stairs onto vast marble foyer).

DListed)

Oh my, its the glitterati! (Image Source: DListed)

Snort!

4 responses to “Snip! Snip!

  1. and your look? 🙂 j.lo looks fine with that blow dry. I’ve been reading on some forums about a Juan guy who’s supposed to be quite good

  2. She does look fine! I agree! Its just that the Australian style – at least if you’re under 50 – tends towards a more edgy, more modern look.

    Trying to look luxe is definitely not the Australian thing. I think its because of our anti-authoritarian streak, which we have because a lot of early settlers were convicts or just plain Irish. Not sure which of those two hated the establishment more. But trying to look ‘rich’ is definitely frowned upon.

    Myself – I love a bit of old school glamour!

    Who is this Juan guy? Is he a cutter or colorist?

  3. You MUST get one of those blow drys and put up a photo , you must!

  4. I feel these blow-dries deserve the full makeup to go with them. One day I’ll get the two going at the same time and take a photo.

    I shall pre-prepare by purchasing mink eyelashes and glitter! Actually, maybe not.

    I do kind of dig the Arabs’ use of Kohl around the outer eyelid though. I’m getting into that…except I use a dark metallic brown shadow instead.

    I am completely incapable of drawing a smooth line with liquid eyeliner.

Leave a Reply

