Home

I was going to post a map of where I grew up (on my Dad’s side of the family) showing the fires surrounding it.

Now I see that 11 people were killed in St Andrews.

Going to the St Andrews open-air market on Saturday mornings was my favourite thing to do on the weekends I spent with my Dad. They had brandy snaps for sale and I was allowed to buy one. Many people from our town, Panton Hill, used to have stalls there.  It was a beautiful place where you could walk around under the eucalypts and listen to the Bell Birds singing.

I feel such a sense of  protection for these people in the areas of the fires.

St Andrews is just under 6km of winding road from my Dad's home in Panton Hill.

St Andrews is just under 6km of winding road from my Dad's home in Panton Hill.

The lower green tag is Panton Hill.

Each blue tag indicates an town where people were killed by the fire.

I mapped the road from Panton Hill to St Andrews – it shows up in green – 5.8km.

Leave a comment