Mozzwatch

On the evening of the 25th his sugars were still low at 6.9 (remembering that ideal is between 10 and 15). We skipped the insulin again that evening.

The next morning – that’s today – his blood sugars were 11.3.  That’s almost exactly ideal.  So we gave him his usual 2 units of insulin.  He was rather hungry during the day which to me indicates his blood sugars are a little low.  However, I didn’t feel the need to take his sugars because he was full of beans and showing no real signs of any trouble.

This evening he gave a reading of 9.8 which is just under ideal.  This is a situation where we could really choose to go either way… give him 2 units of insulin or not give him any at all. After a short discussion we agreed to give him 2 units and see how he responded.

Why? Historically he has been more prone to hypoglycemia in the mornings than in the evenings.  That is why his regimen until recently was 2 units in the morning and 4 units in the evening (as set by the vet). For this reason we thought we would give him his insulin this evening – even though he almost didn’t need it – and skip the shot tomorrow morning if necessary (after taking his blood sugar reading of course).

Well, the theory was good… but he went into hypo anyway!

It’s becoming almost impossible to tell when he is having an attack. His body is so good at coping with it now. In earlier days he would have lost bladder and bowl control, be blind, screaming and convulsing when his sugars reached the low 1’s (1.1-1.3). Contrast that with this evening when he again gave a reading of ‘Low’ at 11pm. which is less than 1.0, and he showed so few symptoms I really wasn’t sure if I was being over-conscientious in deciding to measure them.

The clue was he was sitting down every now and then in places he wouldn’t normally sit. e.g. the middle of the bathroom floor. He was still capable of walking around and interacting with the family, having a chat and purring away. If I stared I thought I could almost see an almost imperceptible weakness in his back legs. Not a stagger by any means, but perhaps a a slight ‘lightness’ to his rear body.

When I finally decided to take his sugars I realised quickly that he was having a hypo.  He didn’t resist the lancet that pricks his ear for the blood test. A surefire sign of hypo for Mozz. And then he sat down on the bench while I was testing him.  Another sure sign. He will not do that unless he is in hypo – unequivocally. By the time the machine gave its reading I wasn’t surprised he was in hypo, although I was surprised that it was so low.

Lesson: when in doubt – do it!

I’ve given him some sugar and he has eaten a big bowl of cat food. I will measure him again soon at 12 midnight. That’s 1 hour after the initial reading of Low.

A glass of wine sir? (Thanks for the caption Pete!)

A glass of wine sir? (Thanks for the caption Pete!)

3 responses to “Mozzwatch

  1. He’s terribly handsome and dignified. Glad he’s okay now.

    • When I read this I said to Mozz. ‘Mate! Someone from Arizona (It’s Arizona right?) thinks you are handsome and dignified!’ My husband laughed and said, ‘I guess she didn’t see you from the angle I saw you from this morning!’ (Mozz sleeps behind his butt in the bed.)

      I think he’s terribly handsome too 🙂

  2. Yes, Arizona 🙂

    It’s all in the proper angle.

Leave a Reply

