Burj Dubai (Dubai Tower)

Here are some photos I took today from the car window. Okay, one of them involved me jumping out the door of the car while we were stopped for work vehicles.  I didn’t have much time to snap away… I didn’t want to hold up the traffic for fear of the cacophony of honking that would ensue.

Only a few turned out okay considering my constraints of place and time. 

The Burj Dubai is really my favourite building in Dubai.  Not just because it is the tallest building in the world, but because I find it incredibly beautiful.  It reminds me of two things. 

Firstly, it reminds me of Gaudi’s La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona.

The other thing I think of when I see the Burj Dubai is playing in with wet sand by the beach when I was a kid.  Did you ever get really wet sand in your hand and make a fist, letting the waterlogged sand dribble out of your fist onto the beach?  It would make these kind of wormy-looking sand-towers that stayed intact as the water drained out of the sand.

The Burj Dubai is very organic-looking and reminds me of those two things.

The Burk Dubai with the late afternoon sun just above it.

The Burj Dubai with the late afternoon sun just above it.

 

Burj Dubai from the East (I think)

Burj Dubai from the East (I think)

3 responses to “Burj Dubai (Dubai Tower)

  1. where will you be on the 9/9/9

  2. I will be at the opening of the Burj Dubai!

    If I can wrangle an invitation 🙂

  3. This building produced such a advanced beautiful architecture , that i can not describe, but one thing sure it will rock in coming days,

Leave a Reply

